His Mistake Was His Red Flag

So why did I share this story of betrayal?

My immediate reaction was anger and the thought that our relationship was built on lies. When I took a minute to reflect on the course of our relationship, I realized how good this mistake was for him. He had been a great friend but when we started dating, he became… kind of a jerk. Because hurt people, hurt people.

A mistake is a mirror, a red alert for self assessment.

When he crossed his own line, he was left with a choice: to submit himself to the self-destructing habits that led to the circumstance or submit the circumstance to God. I’m happy to say that he choose to submit it to God because I noticed an immediate change in his attitude even if I didn’t know what prompted it until years later.

We can all predict the future: our hearts will be broken again and again.

Be it betrayal, loss, failure or bad decisions, pain is the nature of life.

We can’t change pain but it will change us.

It’s our choice to submit our hearts to God each time or to sacrifice ourselves to the circumstances.

Reminders to Submit the Circumstance

And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.
Romans 8:28

“For I know the plans that I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.”
Jeremiah 29:11 (NASB)

3 thoughts on “His Mistake Was His Red Flag

  1. Pingback: Chasing the Boy: In Pursuit of Passion | notthestateofmyhouse

  2. Pingback: The day I asked my son to forgive me | notthestateofmyhouse

  3. Pingback: To the one who (I thought) broke my heart | notthestateofmyhouse

Leave a Reply

