Honor, Mother: Beyond the Busy

What do you think of when you think of Mother’s Day? Maybe if you’re a Christian, the fifth commandment comes to mind.

Honour thy father and thy mother: that thy days may be long upon the land which the Lord thy God giveth thee. Exodus 20:12 (KJV)

Sounds noble, right? And you get rewarded. You can outwardly show honor to someone but still hold hate for them in your heart. And that’s not love. Is there honor without love? No, I don’t think so. Jesus honored and loved his mother.

He honored and loved her enough that he was willing to cause her pain to give her something greater, a savior. And while he suffered through that pain, he let her know that he did not forget her.

But standing by the cross of Jesus were His mother, and His mother’s sister, Mary the wife of Clopas, and Mary Magdalene. 26 When Jesus then saw His mother, and the disciple whom He loved standing nearby, He *said to His mother, “Woman, behold, your son!” 27 Then He *said to the disciple, “Behold, your mother!” From that hour the disciple took her into his own household.

John 19:25b-27

Jesus was a good son. Despite his pain and his mission, he looked after her. My own kiddos have kind of been… driving me crazy. I’m sure you’ve been there.

You have things to do…

deadlines to meet…

places to go…

people to greet.

So you do what you have to do to get through. Work through naps. Push through in the middle of the night though your head keeps dropping from lack of sleep. Tag-team it with your spouse. Call on grandma or a sitter. But this week has been one of those weeks. You do all that but you still have things to do. If only they would listen and calm down for a few minutes! You keep thinking to yourself. I need just a few minutes to focus on this.

For me, in the midst of all this trying to focus, and frankly frustration, my heart dropped. I wasn’t going to need just a few minutes because there’s always one more thing to do. And why would they listen to me, when I wasn’t listening to them all of the time. Yes, we have our designated times to run and play and read. Some of my responses (to everyone) during my focused moments leave a lot to be desired:

Yeah, just a minute…

Oh, that’s great.

Silence.

What I’m learning in this season of life is that it’s OK to be focused but it’s best to love. It’s a reminder to do more than the necessary. It’s a reminder to put aside my pain and my mission and honor others with my attention. So here’s to waking up out of the focus, and fog, of busyness.

Leave a Reply

