Does Target Value the Sanctity of Life?

When I saw a beautiful little pregnant calico cat a few weeks ago, I had the sudden urge to scoop her up and take her home. Having grown up in rural America, I knew life was tough and fragile for barn cats. And sure enough, I learned a couple days ago that a bigger animal came along in the middle of the night and snuffed out the life of the new kittens and their momma. I burst into tears last night thinking about it. I wish I would have followed that prompting and taken her home. I wish I could have protected her and those three babies.

I don’t blog about headlines so what does that have to do with Target? This blog is more of my creative outlet for musings on life, my family and my faith. I’m not throwing down the gauntlet because I hate those who identify as transgender. My faith values the sanctity of life, the protection of the weak and that’s why I’m sharing my thoughts on this. I don’t want to look back after some horrible incident and regret my silence.

My faith values the sanctity of life, the protection of the weak…

Even if fathers start standing guard at the women’s restroom to prevent cases like this one, where an adult male accidentally entered the wrong restroom, will they feel the need to stop a boy? What about those teen girls shopping for clothes alone? My concern with Target’s new bathroom and dressing room policy, is that it won’t stop with Target. If there is little outcry, and this becomes standard operating procedure, major corporations, public venues (think children’s museum or zoo), and government facilities (read parks and schools) will follow suit.

I will absolutely continue to protect my children when I am with them, but what happens when the I am not? What happens on that field trip to the museum? What happens if school bathrooms become gender neutral? Trust me, it takes just one incident to haunt or at least color the perception of life for the person who is attacked.

This is bigger than gender identity.

When I ask if Target values the sanctity of life, I’m asking about the vulnerable. No, those who identify as transgender are not evil, nor are they the problem. (Men who sincerely identify as women through outward appearances are at risk with this policy, too.) The problem is people intent on doing evil who will take the opportunity to do so when it presents itself. This is bigger than gender identity. What about the children and women who are at risk for assault? Those who would have to live with the effects of an attack for the rest of their lives? We must speak up to protect their future.

There cannot be a free-for-all, as Target seems to now offer.

 

[Image source]

One thought on “Does Target Value the Sanctity of Life?

  1. Some more thoughts on this topic… The thing about predators is that they are really good at spotting prey who are weaker than the rest of the pack. Who is weaker in this? Those who are already at risk at home who are abused or who have parents who don’t care. And a predator will see it. In a perfect world all children are protected and all spouses treated kindly. This is one more place those who are abused will be vulnerable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

