Let’s Get Real: Life Stinks Sometimes

Oh, let us count the ways:

  • neon blue highlighter on a white wall (seriously, nothing takes this off, I’m going to break out the white paint)
  • spending your bit of cash on that questionably-fresh bag of chips, which gets stuck on it’s way down
  • the husband’s out-of-town trips, be they through the week for business or a long weekend at the golf course
  • when all the best-laid, perfect-fit plans come crashing down because of one tertiary person’s stupid decision
  • that potential diagnosis spoken over you child but you have to wait months for assessment; and ironically it’s the one that your family of origin can’t seem to handle well
  • my constant failure to meet my own standards (the tub of blocks should be separated by brand for the love of all that is organized!)
  • and (drum roll, maestro!)… my bad attitude

Since connecting (after decades of being sheltered and self-imposed seclusion), I am realizing how messed up life is for everyone. God can still reveal wonderful truths to us in the mess but sometimes we don’t take the time to latch on to them. We continue to stumble through in the tried-and-untrue ways and feel the pressure. I’ve learned a couple of other things:

  • When our minds and hearts are in chaos, we must hand over those emotions to God or we risk causing more havoc when we share our woundedness with others.
  • We can’t pretend to be something we aren’t, but God… he can replace our jerkiness with joy.

Are you trying to handle situations and reactionary emotions or are you handing them over to God?

Most times I probably look like the person trying to shimmy the vending machine around to make the snacks fall out. And when I can’t get it to work out (and I never can), it’s a kick-the-stupid-thing kind of frustrating. When I don’t have answers or solutions, I remind myself (repeatedly) that God does and I should make space for the proper authority before I destroy something. And we just need to hang in there

‘For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope’ ~Jeremiah 29:11 (NASB)

He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus ~Philippians 1:6b (NASB)

[Image source]

2 thoughts on “Let’s Get Real: Life Stinks Sometimes

  1. Pingback: Grappling with the Dark | notthestateofmyhouse

  2. Pingback: Life Stinks, Sing Anyway | notthestateofmyhouse

Leave a Reply

