What is Love?

I think sometimes people, that we, reject God because deep down we don’t want His love. You wouldn’t want His love if it was like the love you probably have known. If it was a love that left you abandoned and hurt lonely and worried. You wouldn’t want to be loved if it meant being controlled, if it meant you were powerless. If it meant that you were always a failure. You wouldn’t want to be loved if it was made up of unspoken expectations that you continually try to meet but you forever fall short of the standard. It’s a no-win situation–try or try not, you fail. When you don’t want pain or fear or hate or despair or an empty ache, where do you turn?

You can turn to God because His love really is different than anything we’ve ever known. Jesus said that He is the Way and the Truth and the Light. We can choose His Way. We can learn His Truth. We can be His Light.

Hope, we all want hope.

We just want to be loved. What is love?

Love is patient, love is kind and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant, does not act unbecomingly; it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered, does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails…

1 Corinthians 13:4-8a

I don’t know about you, but I’ve often looked at the love verses as the description of how I should act as a wife, as a parent, etc. While they are, I’ve just as often beaten myself up because I’ve failed. I’m bound to mess up: I’m human. But Jesus, He’s already overcome the things that are my shortcomings.

I’ve heard it put this way: if Jesus = God and God = love then Jesus = love. Jesus is all these things with you, for you.

Jesus is patient with you. Jesus is kind to you and is not jealous of you. Jesus does not brag and is not arrogant, does not act unbecomingly towards you. Jesus does not seek His own but looks out for you. Jesus is not provoked by your mistakes, does not take into account a wrong suffered, does not rejoice in unrighteousness nor let you stay in your mistakes, but rejoices with and guides you to the truth. Jesus bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things for you. Jesus never fails.

I more than want that kind of love; I need it.

2 thoughts on “What is Love?

  1. I’ve been running a few years with a definition for love that I made up: “Love is the unconditional interest in someone else’s well-being.” I’ll grant you, it’s not gonna get plastered on a Harlequin cover or get added to some dude’s “Love, Mom” heart-shaped tattoo, but I think it’s a pretty reasonable definition. Jesus’ whole ministry was driven by his unconditional interest in others’ well-being. You infuse a lot of emotion in your writing. Not many do that well. Good job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

