Outlander #1: I Just Couldn’t

I especially loved the author’s essay about how she became a writer–she just sat down and did it. I enjoyed her writing style. The first 200 pages were riveting and kept my attention (I skipped portions after that, keep reading to find out why). Then enter the wedding night scene and seemingly endless circumstances of gratuitous sex (I laughed at the dialogue I did read) and sexual violence. The heroine felt sick when near a man who looked like her first husband because he had punched her in the stomach (though he’s revealed to be pretty horrible later) but early on feels compelled to stay with her new husband who alternately protects her, beats her, and sacrifices himself for her. What? I would have loved to have explored more of the “witch” character’s background, especially given that there are several references to the folk tales about women being transported.

Leave a Reply

