It’s the state of my mind and not the state of my house

A year ago yesterday I typed my very first blog post. The house still contains small children and more things to do than the time to do them. I still get to hear how much my husband loves me. I’m still discovering that my value does not come from what I do or how well I do it (and how my worth doesn’t decrease when I fall short).

There’s more to life–there is you–and you are beautiful.

notthestateofmyhouse

You are not going to see photos of me serenely sitting in a field of flowers in the local park. Or of how perfectly my latest decorating or craft project turned out. Or of my children smiling as they enjoy another of my tasty creations. Sure, those things happen in my life (maybe not the sitting, we’re usually running), but my self, my being, my worth is not comprised of those things. I’ve thought many times of joining the blogging realm but the realization I’ve had today is worth the time to do this. I feel like I’ve finally had a breakthrough, and I want to share it with you.

This morning as he was telling me goodbye before he left for work my husband told me for the thousandth time how much of a blessing I am to him, how much I do for him and the kids, how…

View original post 169 more words

Leave a Reply

