Put Down that Marriage Blog!

OK, I’m a sucker for good advice. Who isn’t going to research ways to make their marriage (or parenting) better? Umm, me. Starting now. Let me tell you why.

All the Christian marriage advice I’ve read has some wonderfully encouraging words for those who are struggling, complete with the tried-and-true scriptures. That’s the good news. Many of the articles point out how the enemy wants to destroy marriage and is constantly waging attacks. That’s the truth. But these words of advice all mention the issues. Oh, the issues. Addictions, infidelities, you name it. No one is immune. I know.

The problem is, for me anyway, is that these attempts to be transparent just turn into triggers. I wake up on the wrong side of the bed (that is if I even slept in a bed–parents, you know what I mean), don’t have my morning cup of wake up until noon, the kids have colds, and, BAM, marriage advice has become fodder for the worry fire. Just tonight, when he paused during our conversation, I was afraid some deep-dark revelation was about to pour out (despite the evidence of the contrary). Why the internal freak out?

In my efforts to make my marriage better, I’ve been constantly reliving our past and fears by reading marriage blogs.

As far as I know, my husband isn’t leading a secret double life (but then it wouldn’t be a secret, would it?). We aren’t on the brink of divorce. We certainly should always strive to improve ourselves in all areas of our lives, especially in this type of long-term commitment, which is why I started reading marriage advice in the first place. Every relationship needs encouragement.

But for now, I’m going to stop reading that marriage advice.

Leave a Reply

