A word on grace

You have to give people grace because people are going to fail.

Life without grace is life without hope.

After a late-night conversation with my husband, these bits kept coming to my mind. Grace and hope, two things inextricably linked to Christ. All people will fail. But we don’t have to be weighted down with our failures, or anyone else’s for that matter.

Maybe you grew up in a household where grace was in short supply. It can be hard to show grace when you haven’t seen it in living color. No grace shown to you when you accidentally broke the teacup at 5 can translate into a lack of grace for your children when they break your favorite lamp 20 years later. But the cycle doesn’t have to continue. We can be cycle breakers. Some of us may have to try harder than others.

Giving voice to my thoughts, especially positive ones, doesn’t come naturally for me; I wasn’t born with an outgoing-personality gene. How many times have we introverts looked at the confident-have-it-all-together woman across the room with a twitch of frustration as we sit hidden in the back corner? I know that if I look put together, I’ve had to put extra time in at the boys-free zone (OK, this doesn’t really exist, but hypothetically speaking). Maybe that other woman had to sacrifice something to look awesome, I don’t know.

So to those of us who have to put in that extra effort to show grace where we didn’t see it, to speak to anyone outside of our own heads: keep going! I don’t think God made me a specific way or placed me in a specific childhood so that I could shirk back from life. He can use you, in all your nature-vs-nurture complexities.

 But by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace to me was not without effect. No, I worked harder than all of them—yet not I, but the grace of God that was with me.

1 Corinthians 15:10

Leave a Reply

