Don’t Wait for Prince Charming to Rescue You…

f9eb6d802c65c8400eb02b0fec02a9bc

I think of all the weary wives–she may have scars and bandaged wounds with her crown tramped down in the mud in midst of a battle–and the husbands who can see her worth and admire her determination to get through another day.

While people are marrying at older ages, many of us are still fairly young. We may not even know ourselves or realize there is a battle. My husband has been a big influence in my life since I left home, but I’m not sure he was much of a warrior when we met. I definitely didn’t behave like a queen at the time. But looking back, I can see the qualities developing in each us that have made us the people we are today.

You see, ladies, a man can’t rescue you from your tower, from your own walls and bring you back to his palace to set you up as the queen. We’re not born with innate queenly qualifications. No, we have free will to make our own choices. But on what are we to base our decisions? Popular culture tells us (or rather shoves down our throats) that we are to follow our hearts.

Have you met my heart? She be crazy.

No, I have a King. I know He has had a hand in the path my life has taken: where I went to school, what I studied, who I became friends with, the man I fell in love with, and when two little boys joined our family. And I want to submit my heart to His will, take His path. Not an easy task with a rebellious nature (we all have it, I think there’s just an extra dose in my gene pool).

I want to look to God for my rescue.

Don’t wait for Prince Charming to rescue you, look for the warrior

When you have a warrior at your side, you can both be prepared for battle.

Two are better than one because they have a good return for their labor. For if either of them falls, the one will lift up his companion.
E
cclesiastes 4:9-10a (NASB)

2 thoughts on “Don’t Wait for Prince Charming to Rescue You…

  1. Pingback: Saving Chivalry: A Sister’s Call to Arms | notthestateofmyhouse

  2. Pingback: Look for the Warrior Ready for Battle | notthestateofmyhouse

Leave a Reply

