The Little Children

Small children are so much more aware of the world around them than we adults typically give them credit for. Yesterday, my preschooler turned to me, standing up as tall as possible, and said, “mom-mom, I’m big.” He repeated it when my only response was a puzzled look. Clarity struck. Over the weekend we had visited a park and parked near the water. While walking past the raging river he declared that he wanted to go “in water” because a few parents had taken their small kids in to wade (OK, I had on my mom goggles, it was probably more like gently rambling brook). I denied his request with “well, maybe you can go in there when you are bigger, when you get big.” He was a few days older, surely he was big by now.

Small children are so much more aware of the world around them than we adults typically give them credit for.

Do you remember any happenings and the feelings they invoked from your childhood?

 

I am fairly extreme in who I allow unsupervised time with my kids, probably to the frustration of my husband and the curious looks from onlookers. If God has hidden truths “from the wise and learned, and revealed them to little children” (Matthew 11:25), I want be available for my kids to open up to me about their concerns and take into account their discernment. Even when they can clearly tell me their opinions, I’ll probably still be an over-careful mother.

Leave a Reply

