From Worrier to Warrior

I’m still learning how to fight off worry. Due to some genetically influenced chemical levels or some childhood experiences, I have worried about most everything since I was a child. I can remember being home alone while my parents went grocery shopping to the nearest store (about a 25-30 minute drive) and waiting. Then calculating how long they should be gone and worrying they were in some horrific accident if they were not home at the time I predicted they should be (long-gone days before cell phones and texting).

It was such a natural part of my thinking that I didn’t realize its physical manifestations as a teenager. After a battery of tests, the doctor prescribed some anti-anxiety meds, which I took for a few weeks before worrying so much over the potential side effects that I just couldn’t keep taking them. A year or two later, I accepted Christ and being able to turn to God’s promises (particularly 2 Timothy 1:7) was a turning point for me then.

But now I seem to get so busy, so reliant on myself, that I forget to turn to Him. So last night, lying in bed, I was unable to sleep because vague but intense worry about my husband. I’ve been letting it get the best of me, for no reason. So, self, here’s a reminder:

Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?

Matthew 6:27 (NIV)

What is the way to life?

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

John 14:6 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

