Can There Be Balance on the Scale of Life?

I’m currently reading a book titled “Balance Point,” which is in one of the Star Wars series (don’t judge, I’m reading it because of this particular author). Then there was an episode character who advised another character that her busy life could be maintained only through balance. Can we really balance it all?

Well, first things first: don’t compare yourself to anyone else, not even yourself. If you start thinking, “I could do this much more before I had kids or before I had chronic pain,” it contributes to feelings of inadequacy. And with our human natures, we start looking to someone to blame for our weakness, looking for someone to whom we can appropriate our anger. And if we compare ourselves to others, someone’s going to come out on the bottom–continuing the cycle. But back to balancing.

Unfortunately, when I’m behind on work deadlines, I shouldn’t shirk on my mothering duties to try to catch up with thing. And time spent in recreational activities (which consist of reading, writing, and visiting parks) isn’t redeemed with volunteer work. Balancing implies that something gets heavier, in essence bigger, than something else. Relationships, like being a mother, require a lot of attention, but also long-term investment. Work usually has a lot of small fires that need immediate action, but in the long run is not as impactful. And recreation and volunteerism keep us grounded with enjoyment and giving joy, but those things, too, can take center stage and usurp things that need our focus. Since these things take on different importance at different times in our lives, there always will be an imbalance.

I’ve found only one that puts life back in perspective: Christ. He’s the only one who can handle all of my emotions on everything in my life. When I’m frustrated at my kids, blaming their misbehavior on my lacking parenting skills, He’s the only one who can take my anger and woeful inadequacies. When I’m late for work deadlines and want to just escape it by vegging out, He walks me through to completion. When my good works become burdens, only He can redeem them. He takes all these worldly cares and reveals them for what they are–shrines to myself. When I don’t turn to Him but try to do it all myself and then take the credit for any results (or failures), I’m still focused on my self.

He’s not merely a counterweight, He’s the center stone. There is no balance without Him.

Leave a Reply

