Mrs. Right

I grew up adoring my fair share of Disney princesses. They were all beautiful and confident and really only made mistakes because of their naive, trusting personalities and you couldn’t really blame them for that. They were the embodiment of a Miss Right who was searching for her Mr. Right. This “Disney Renaissance” period featured characters like Ariel, Belle, Jasmine, and Pocahontas. Hidden in those beautiful melodies are some pretty subversive lyrics…

Belle: Ev’ry morning just the same…There must be more than this provincial life!

Pocahontas: To be safe we lose our chance of ever knowing what’s waiting just around the river bend!

Ariel: I just don’t see how a world that makes such wonderful things could be bad.

Aladdin to Jasmine: Tell me, Princess, when did you last let your heart decide?

Disney, are you telling us to be unsatisfied with our lives? That there is always more? Overcome all odds (i.e., parents/guardians, friends, and strange octopi-women) to follow your heart to the happily ever after realm with your true love. It would seem that at that point that the cycle would start over with the leading lady bored with her boring life and ready to defy all those around her to seek out whatever must be out there.

So all that struggle to get to Mr. Right. But then what about when the kids are fussy or you forget to wash his clothes or you’re both too exhausted from the struggle of actual every day life to figure out what to say to each other? Could your desire to have more be so wrong when it makes you feel so right? Do you toss this life, this love to go find some excitement, to find someone who will call you Princess and seek to please you? What happened to this man being your prince?

You see, there can be no Mr. Right until you become right with the only one who is The One. All the frustration, all those personality traits about yourself that you don’t like, everything that seems to be driven away by being in love, will come into play again. But there is only One who can love you so much that He knows you and is the only One who can make you right.

Psalm 139: 1-16 (NIV)

You have searched me, Lord,
    and you know me.
You know when I sit and when I rise;
    you perceive my thoughts from afar.
You discern my going out and my lying down;
    you are familiar with all my ways.
Before a word is on my tongue
    you, Lord, know it completely.
You hem me in behind and before,
    and you lay your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
    too lofty for me to attain.

Where can I go from your Spirit?
    Where can I flee from your presence?
If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
    if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
    if I settle on the far side of the sea,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
    your right hand will hold me fast.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
    and the light become night around me,”
12 even the darkness will not be dark to you;
    the night will shine like the day,
    for darkness is as light to you.

13 For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place,
    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
    all the days ordained for me were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.

3 thoughts on “Mrs. Right

  1. Pingback: let’s be honest | notthestateofmyhouse

  2. Why is there so much discussion among women about Disney princesses? Are the unrealistic expectations they set so captivating that we can’t put them down – second only to Barbie? They generate so much satisfaction, one wonders how this balances against the benefits they yield.

    Personally, my favorite Disney characters are the Big Bad Wolf and Captain Hook. (And with these two male role models, all bets are off what my vision of Miss Right would be.)

    Someone who likes pork sandwiches and doesn’t mind intermittent visits by a way-too-friendly alligator?

    Like

    • I think it’s the singing. Who can get “Be our guest” out of their heads?
      I don’t think it’s too surprising that there is discussion. The ones I referred to were movies that were parent-approved and available, I participated in the school musical program where we sang these songs. I remember some of the characters being given with Book-It. Once a movie is out, it permeates into the lives of your every-day child and parent.

      Like

Leave a Reply

