My guilty humanness

Luke 10:40…At the Home of Mary and Martha

40 But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!”

Luke 15:29-30…Parable of the Prodigal Son

29 But [the older brother] answered his father, ‘Look! All these years I’ve been slaving for you and never disobeyed your orders. Yet you never gave me even a young goat so I could celebrate with my friends. 30 But when this son of yours who has squandered your property with prostitutes comes home, you kill the fattened calf for him!’

So here we have two sets of siblings. The older one is saying “Look, I’ve done everything good and right! Why do I have to do all the work? Where is my acknowledgment, my reward?!?”

In how many situations are we like Martha or the older brother, wailing “What about me?” But even further than bringing attention to our “sacrifices,” we want God to back us up in our condemnation of someone else. Ultimately, we’ve compared our self to someone else and judged ourselves to be better and lessened Jesus’ sacrifice by implying that ours’ mean something.

We can’t do that (and I’m talking to myself here)! What is it about our human nature that desperately clings to the thought that we are better, that by our hands we can save ourselves and slam down the gavel while screaming “guilty” at the world?

Thank God that Jesus came to overthrow this humanness in me! Is there any other way to show love than by being obedient to God and by being merciful to others?

Leave a Reply

