Second helpings

“Take delight in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4 (NIV)

When you can take delight in God, He becomes the desire of your heart. Thus, He will give you Himself. And what is He?

I could be the very best mother but my children won’t satisfy me. God is peace when the children are screaming. I could be the most in-love lover but my husband is not always near me. God is love when my husband can’t hold me. I could eat well, exercise and sleep right but my body is still aging. He is the healing when my shoulder pain radiates through my body. I could be the most effective employee but work is, well, work. God is confidence when a deadline is approaching. I could give in to every thing I want (like making the brownie mix and then promptly eating the result) but I will always want more. God is redemption and hope when I have failed yet again.

He is the need and the answer to that need.

I want to parent, love, live, work and be all that I can, not for the sake of my children, husband, health, boss, or my self because those people and things will fail, but for God because only He can fulfill my need. When He fulfills, it overflows and out of that overflow, I truly can be the best self I can be because nothing is lacking.

Sure, my ears are ringing, I’m lonely, a cold has set in and what sleep I did get was on the kids’ bedroom floor, the files came in a week late, and not much seems to be working out today (still no brownies), but if I can just grasp this verse for the rest of the day, then I’ll make through today.

How am I today? I’m not well, but I am well.

Leave a Reply

