When you’re not really a connecting type of person…

When you’re introverted and shy it can be hard to explain to people why you’re not comfortable willingly joining into social situations. Especially when your past experiences, albeit with a different but similar crowd, were painful.

So here I am, not-too-long in the ranks of full-time motherhood, marinating in my own juices day-after-day with a couple of tear-inducing spices (the kids). I am completely worn down because being around people is draining on an introverted person, especially when those people are less than 48″ tall. If I could make it to a function, I’m not sure how much of a fun person I would be. Does anyone really want to be around a frazzled woman whose unfocused, glazed-over eyes clearly indicate she is not fully present to hear or talk about how wonderful life is?

As a general rule, I’m not a connecting type of person.

When I want to say “no,” I feel like I owe an explanation. That due to my nature, my upbringing, my past experiences, and my schedule, I don’t want to get involved socially. But I’m not sure I even like this about myself because these negative things are dictating how I live now.

2 thoughts on “When you’re not really a connecting type of person…

  1. Pingback: Are a You Lone Wolf or Outcast? | notthestateofmyhouse

  2. Pingback: Are You Lone Wolf or Outcast? | notthestateofmyhouse

Leave a comment