“The conquest of space is worth the risk of life”

“We are in a risky business, and we hope that if anything happens to us, it will not delay the program. The conquest of space is worth the risk of life.” Gus Grissom

At the end of September I came across this quote. Who thinks like this now, or even in the 1960s?  To see something bigger than the self, something in the future, what kind of dedication does it take to say it and then live it?

Right now all I see are endless diaper changes and loads of laundry in my future. But as my husband constantly reminds me, there is more. As a parent of any variety it is so easy to get caught up in all the to-dos around the house and your childrens’ lives. What is your more? Me, I tend to get caught up in the details and forget that there is a bigger picture for my family, for me. I need to be refocused.

I came across this great exercise for working to get your vision refocused in an old-school copy of the T.D. Jakes book Woman Thou Art Loosed. Write a list of 30 things you want to do in your life and mark them off as you complete them. As he continued, you can’t live in the past pain (or present problems, I’d add) if you are focused on the future. I’ve heard something similar to this: “For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal” (2 Corinthians 4: 17-18).

What is worth the risk of my life? Should I do what I want to do right now, which would be nothing all that productive, but at least I wouldn’t have to work at it? Or should I struggle and strive–fighting chronic pain, interruptions, and screaming children–to make the future I want to see? We’re going to arrive at the future either way.

Leave a Reply

